Quinoa

Heathers Quinoa from 101 Cookbooks

Heather's Quinoa from 101 Cookbooks

I don’t know what it is, but quinoa has been popping up everywhere lately. The New York Times did a little piece on it, my coworker Connie made it for her Election Night Dinner Party, and I could swear its a featured grain in the Healthy Living column in the new Martha Stewart Living. Quinoa is a tiny, ancient Peruvian seed, but I just like to describe it as “rice sperm” because it’s high in protein and when its cooked you can see a little curlicue thread in each grain. It also rich in the amino acid lysine – lucky for someone like me who gets canker sores all the time.

I used this recipe from one of my favorite food blogs. The roasted tomatoes were really key. I didn’t have paneer cheese, but it was good with parmesan sprinkled on top. Or you could try nutritional yeast.

Other foods/bevs I have been enjoying lately:
D’anjou pears
Butter + honey on toast
Roasted salted pumpkin seeds
Butternut squash
Green Earl Grey tea from Esselon Cafe
Mayflower Porter*

*Okay, I didn’t really love this, but as an olfactory enthusiast, I appreciated its complexity. Kind of like the time I tried Cantillon Gueze, which tastes like horse blanket. At least the porter tasted like coffee.

This is a cool website for looking up what produce is currently in season.

0 Responses to “Quinoa”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

