Holiday List Edition

My Favorite Albums of 2008

10. Women – S/T
9. Grouper – Dragging a Dead Deer Up a Hill (I only discovered this today)
8. Benoit Pioulard – Temper
7. Beach House – Devotion
6. Crystal Castles – S/T
5. Fleet Foxes – S/T
4. Crystal Stilts – Alight of Night
3. M83 – Saturdays=Youth
2. Deerhunter – Microcastle
1. The Raveonettes – Lust, Lust, Lust

Best Xmas Presents Received ’08:

10. Apron sewed by Momma

9. Deer earrings from the Artisan Gallery

8. Ludwig Wittgenstein: The Duty of Genius – Ray Monk

7. Johnny Cash at Folsom Prison Box Set

6. CuisineArt

5. 3-month gym membership
4. Pastry blender (for making pies)

3. Quilting Lessons
2. 20 new perfume decants!
1. Monkey Butt Powder

Best Things I Have Eaten This Week and/or Things I Will Eat Tonight:

10. Noodle kugel
9. Stuffed mushrooms
8. Shrimp cocktail
7. Haricots verts in mustard vinaigrette
6. Cherry pie
5. Homemade marshmallows in hot chocolate (anticipated)
4. Cranberry white chocolate chip walnut cookies
3. Pastry treats from Pastarrhea (jk)
2. 6-inch Veggie Delite from Subway
1. Winter crudites with buttermilk dip

And now for a Christmas photo narrative:


Cutting down our tree at Wilga Tree Farm. The Wilga couple were my parents’ first landlords.


Keith with the Christmas Cat. Luna left us multiple turds on the bedroom floor on Christmas morning.


My 2008 ornament.


We went to my mom’s on Christmas Eve. Here is her Recession Tree.


Here is the impressive spread of h’ors d’oeuvres, some of which are named above.


Mom


Aunt Diane and Katie in the studio. I made my mom the cardinal mobile last Christmas Eve.


Aunt Elaine and Keith sampling a cranberry hot pepper jam.


Grammie got a bit tipsy and wore a wreath of blinking Christmas lights on her head all night.


Katie with her bff, Hannah.


A favorite of mine: Swedish Angel Chimes.


My mitten gift tags were a big hit.


My mom made us new stockings!


And peach jam…the incredible fabric swatch is from a quilting store I’ll soon be taking classes at.


Christmas morning haul. Notice the paperwhite progress (they didn’t bloom in time for Christmas, but they are here in time for New Years!)


Grandma Elaine and Kayla playing with the wooden puzzle we got her.


Keith had a wee accident at the barber’s.


Uncle Keefy and Kayla


Uncle Rick unwrapping a gift from his Secret Santa. Incidentally, Rick was my Secret Santa!


The Seamstress with all the apron recipients except me.

My Secret Santa was Great Uncle Bob. I baked him an apple pie and bought him a shoe horn on a stick, among other things. He guessed me last out of all the relatives: success!

3 Responses to “Holiday List Edition”


  1. 1 hannifox January 1, 2009 at 6:11 pm

    i love all the photos & lists! i should do some 2008 lists for my blog too! keep it comin’ girl! wish i could’ve been there. xoxo to my special friend.

  2. 2 Melissa January 1, 2009 at 9:28 pm

    Do you have Fleet Foxes current album? If not I can burn it for you!

  3. 3 theherocomplex January 9, 2009 at 12:19 pm

    I downloaded the Beach House and Crystal Stilts albums on your recommendation — and they’re amazing! Thank you! Grouper is also great. It was a good year for music!


Leave a Reply

