Seamless Seamstressing

Mama loaned me the sewing machine! Sewing is such a useful skill, and it’s for this reason (and this reason alone) I give props to Hopkins Academy’s archaic “Home Economics” course. This class of all girls sewed quillows. Alas, not me – I was the rebel who brought in oversized graphic tees found at local thrift stores and butchered them to the midriff-revealing length fashionable at the time. We also convinced our teacher to screen movies like Now and Then and Seventeen and Pregnant while we sewed. Enough, here are some projects I’ve been working on:


What was once an Amish ankle-length skirt is now a short flare skirt – I only had to chop off a foot of fabric. What to do with the extra scraps of this gorgeous botanical print? It’s 100% wool, which shouldn’t be a problem as long as I’m wearing tights.


This should not really count, but I wanted to show it off anyways. I love a good plaid print. It was too small around the waist, so I had to move a button (not visible). I need a kilt pin!


The only good snake is a door snake, a.k.a. a draft pillow. This was very easy to make, it just took me a while to complete because I ran out of stuffing after my first trip to the store. This guy is filled with $6 worth of beans: kidney, black, and red – whatever looked voluminous and cost $1/bag. Bonus: It matches one of the pillows on my bed.

I also altered a pair of flared, forest green corduroy pants (Hollister, lol). But, you don’t get a picture because I am tired of changing clothes and freezing in the process. My house has oil heat so we keep it on the chilé side.

4 Responses to “Seamless Seamstressing”


  1. 1 Caitlin January 28, 2009 at 12:27 am

    I like the chopping up old skirts idea. I’ve never had the guts to do it but it sounds fun!

  2. 2 turtlesandbox January 28, 2009 at 9:37 am

    You’ll want to put on the skirt and do lots of pinning in front of a mirror before you chop. But it definitely broadens one’s options at the thrift store. Thanks for readin’!

  3. 3 Melissa January 28, 2009 at 3:31 pm

    your skirt came out good! very purrty!

  4. 4 leahfinnegan February 12, 2009 at 7:37 pm

    move here, make clothes good for me


Leave a Reply

