2009 Spring Bulb Show

I wander’d lonely as a cloud
That floats on high o’er vales and hills,
When all at once I saw a crowd,
A host, of golden daffodils

And now, a few photos of the 2009 Smith College Spring Bulb Show.  But first, a little background:  All the bulbs are potted by Smith students in the Horticultural department as a lab exercise and forced into bloom simultaneously.  For two glorious weeks in early March, you can enjoy the colors and scents of thousands of flowers in the Lyman Conservatory: tulips, hyacinths, daffodils, jonquils, freesia, peonies, anemones, crocuses (croci?), forsythia to name a few, punctuated with Walter Crane illustrations….Perfect while it’s still muddy and kind of cold and lackluster outdoors.  I went twice to perk up my winter soul.  Admission is free, but donations are welcome. Actually, it’s over now, so just forget it until next year.  (Man, I am really plugging Smith lately, I should probably just go to grad school there already.)






More posted on my Flickr.

And even if you didn’t make it to the Bulb Show, the Smith Greenhouse is one of my favorite retreats in the whole Pioneer Valley.  The botanic gardens include a Succulent House, a Palm House, a Fern House, and the Stove House pictured below.
…Not to mention the outdoor gardens, where I spotted these guys.

Here is the display window inspired by it all:  origami tulips and daffodils folded by yours truly and Madison.

Now I’m trying to master the elusive origami rose. I practiced during my whole shift yesterday. I think this is my favorite Youtube tutorial so far…check out barbabella’s channel for some insane designs.

0 Responses to “2009 Spring Bulb Show”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

