Stout Cake

My good friend Dave turned 21 on Wednesday, which happens to be our weekly LOST get-together night.  He doesn’t really like straight up booze, so I made him the next best thing: a Guinness cake.  It’s my most successful layer cake to date!  Probably because I used a couple of useful tricks:

– Line bottom of cake pans with parchment paper.
– Bake cake layers at a lower temperature for longer.  They will be flatter and easier to stack.
– Freeze cake layers for up to an hour before stacking/frosting. 



Guinness Chocolate Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

Other updates:

– It’s been one year since my beloved cat, Boo, passed away. I still think about him when I cross the Calvin Coolidge bridge and spot graffiti on the parallel Norwottuck Rail Trail. It read “EB U R THE 1 4 ME 4EVER + ALWAYS ❤ BOO” until recently, when it was altered to say, “EB U R FREE ❤ BOO”

– I’ve been regularly dipping into my precious perfume samples…ever since I learned to open the vials without spilling (more difficult than you’d think). I tried Serge Luten Fleur d’Oranger today, and I realized I’m not as fond of white florals as I once thought. I wore Piguet Fracas to David Sedaris and Caron Tabac Blond to Esselon Cafe.

– I’ve also been enjoying wearing my new $30 prescription glasses from zennioptical.com. The prescription is a little off, but I probably deserve that for being such a cheapskate.

– I am building a wattle fence and trellis for my garden. Stay tuned.

2 Responses to “Stout Cake”


  1. 1 leahfinnegan April 15, 2009 at 6:17 pm

    other update 1: that is so creepy.
    other update 3: i wear my zenni glasses in lieu of smoking pot.

  2. 2 Melissa April 16, 2009 at 5:19 pm

    That cake looks DELICIOUS!!!


Leave a Reply

