Protect Me From What I Want


^My favorite Jenny Holzer Truism.  Artist Tobias Wong has it tattooed on him. You can read a really rad interview with Tobias here.

April’s personal theme is battling a bout of covetousness. Ugh. It really sucks because a.) I pride myself on my will to resist splurging on “fluff”, and b.) I don’t have much of an income to spend, anyways. I think my retail job is partly to blame. The other culprit is my impending birthday.

I’m not sure if it’s hurting or helping, but my solution is writing epic wish lists, e.g., Home Improvement Projects If I Had All The Money In the World and Perennials/Annuals For My Garden. I’m about to give you a taste of my totally miscellaneous wishlist.

– Wise, mature German Shepherd, for a companion
– Flagstone, 50 slabs, for a garden path (In a probably idiotic move, I bought 20 pieces of roof slate at the ReStore yesterday. They chipped with every pothole my mom hit on the way home.)
– Padlock, for my gym locker.
– Origami paper, for practicing astronaut design
– Mason jars, for flour, pasta, sugar, etc.
– Delicates laundry bag, for bras, since I am not likely to replace them for 10 years.
You get the idea.

Finally, a very unrealistic collage of unaffordable fashions I wish I was wearing this Spring.

I even included items from my beloathed Urbn. Shame on you, Emily!

4 Responses to “Protect Me From What I Want”


  1. 1 leahfinnegan April 29, 2009 at 4:07 pm

    no shame, no shame

  2. 2 leahfinnegan April 29, 2009 at 4:07 pm

    i stress-bought shoes from urb*n the other day

  3. 3 basha May 2, 2009 at 3:00 am

    me too.

    also emily i’ve been online-stalking that bird bag for a year. i’m obsessed.

    • 4 turtlesandbox May 2, 2009 at 7:59 am

      leah, i think i’m going this afternoon for some sweet slip-ons. basha, i saw it on your del.icio.us!


Leave a Reply

